CFVI Calls for Nominations for 2023 Euan P. McFarlane Award for Environmental Leadership

Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award winner Shanna Challenger in 2021 (Submitted photo)

The Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) is inviting nominations for the annual Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award.

Since 1987, 31 individuals from 19 Caribbean islands been recipients of the Euan P. McFarlane Award. The award has long recognized individuals who demonstrated exemplary leadership on behalf of the environment in the insular Caribbean and whose efforts have been an inspiration for their home islands and served as models for the Caribbean region.

Beginning this year, the geographic focus of the McFarlane Award has been narrowed to the Virgin Islands archipelago, with nominations open to environmental leaders in both the U.S. and British Virgin Islands.

The Euan P. McFarlane Award was endowed by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller and was administered by Island Resources Foundation from 1987-2014. The award is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) as a part of its philanthropic portfolio of support for youth, learning, families and the environment.


Nominees must demonstrate leadership in environmental stewardship and in their support for sustainable development in their Virgin Islands community. They can be from the public or private sector and could include environmental volunteers, grassroots activists or experienced professionals. Regardless of their principal focus, nominees must display a capacity to provide leadership for environmental progress.

Residents in the Virgin Islands are eligible for nomination. Interested individuals or organizations in the USVI who are familiar with the nominee may submit a nomination. Self-nominations are not accepted, and the nominee cannot participate in the nomination process.


Nominations will be reviewed by an advisory committee of individuals familiar with the Virgin Islands and with the award and its history. Each nomination will be assessed on how well the nominee meets the criteria. Nominations need to concentrate on the following four benchmarks, (although each nomination need not address all four if one or more are not applicable to the nominee):

Nominee’s potential for continued environmental leadership in the Virgin Islands.

Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about environmental issues in the Virgin Islands.

Nominee’s role in developing, promoting or assisting innovative programs or policies that protect key elements of the Virgin Islands’ environment.

Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening and providing leadership for Virgin Islands institutions dedicated to biodiversity conservation, historic preservation, natural resource management or other environmental issues.


The McFarlane Award recipient will receive an unrestricted U.S. $1,000 award.


Nominations should state the background, accomplishments and merits of the person nominated by specifically addressing the criteria indicated above.

Nominations are not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages.

Full contact information of the nominator and nominee must be provided, including name, organizational affiliation if any, mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address.

The nomination should also include the name, organizational affiliation, telephone number(s) and email address for three other people familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information.

Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, letters of endorsement, etc.) may accompany the nomination but are not required. Attachments are not to exceed a total of three pages.

Nominations are to be submitted as emails and attachments and should be sent to:

Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands


Subject line of the email should be shown as: Nomination for Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award.

Deadline: Nominations must be received no later than Oct. 15.

Announcement of the 2023 McFarlane Award Recipient will be made by Nov. 30.