Reminder: Nominations Being Accepted for McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award

Euan P. McFarlane Award

For over three decades, one Caribbean award has consistently recognized and honored individuals in the insular Caribbean who demonstrate exceptional environmental leadership. Since 1987, 28 individuals from 18 Caribbean islands have been recipients of the Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award, an award that was established to acknowledge individuals who have displayed both exemplary and sustained leadership on behalf of the environment in the insular Caribbean. Their efforts have been an inspiration for their home islands and served as models for the Caribbean region.

When the award was first established in 1987, its emphasis was on honoring younger environmental leaders. In intervening years, this priority was amended to broaden the universe of potential nominees. This year, however, we return to the award’s origins by reestablishing the McFarlane Award as an annual recognition of an outstanding environmental leader 30 years of age or younger.

As such, the award will provide encouragement and recognition to emerging young leaders and will focus attention on the innovative achievements of a new generation of Caribbean trailblazers.

The Euan P. McFarlane Award was endowed by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller and was administered by Island Resources Foundation from 1987-2014. It is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) as a part of its philanthropic portfolio of support for youth, learning, families and the environment.

Who Is Eligible?

Any resident of a Caribbean island who is 30 years of age or younger (as of Dec. 31, 2020) is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller Eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may submit a nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Award Criteria

Nominations will be reviewed by an Advisory Committee of individuals familiar with the award and its history, the Caribbean region and environmental initiatives in the region. The award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets the following criteria. Note that all nominations must address criterion No. 4 and at least two of the other three criteria.

  • Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about environmental issues
  • Nominee’s role in developing, promoting or assisting innovative programs or policies that conserve or protect key elements of the Caribbean’s natural or built environment
  • Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation or resource management issues
  • Nominee’s potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean.

Cash Award

The McFarlane Award recipient will receive an unrestricted US $1,000 cash award.

Nomination Information

Nominations are not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages.

Nominations should state the background, accomplishments and merits of the person nominated and must address criterion No. 4 (see above) and at least two of the other three criteria.

Full contact information of the nominator and the nominee must be provided, including name, organizational affiliation if any, mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address.

The nomination should also include the name, organizational affiliation, mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address for three other people familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments who could be contacted for additional information.

Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, letters of endorsement, etc.) may accompany the letter, but they are not required. Attachments are not to exceed a total of five pages.

Nominations are to be submitted as emails/attachments and sent to:

Anna W. Scarbriel, Ph.D.

Director of Grants and Programs

Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands

Email: [email protected]

*Subject line of the email should be shown as:

Nomination for Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award

The deadline for nominations is no later than Oct. 31.

The announcement of the 2020 McFarlane Award recipient will be made by Dec. 1, 2020.