“V.I. Beauty” Design Secures Most Votes for V.I. Commemorative Quarter

“V.I. Beauty”


Gov. John deJongh is pleased to announce the results of the community-wide voting effort to select a design for the Virgin Islands Commemorative Quarter. 
According to the final tally, including electronic voting and paper ballots, the “V.I. Beauty” design secured the most support, pulling in 6,882 votes. The other two entries, “First in Freedom” and “Three Queens” received 4,553 and 1,887 votes, respectively.
“I am proud to forward a recommendation to the U.S. Mint for the Virgin Islands Commemorative Quarter design,” deJongh said. “After a three week-long voting period, Virgin Islanders have collectively selected an overall favorite design, and I thank the community for its participation in this truly historic process.”
The “V.I. Beauty” is a geographical rendition of the Virgin Islands, and includes the three major islands; the official bird of the Virgin Islands, the Yellow Breast or Banana Quit; as well as the official flower of the Virgin Islands, the Yellow Cedar or Yellow Elder.
A beach is also depicted with the Tyre Palm, a species native to the Virgin Islands, with the inscription “United in Pride and Hope,” the official motto of the territory, which is also found on the Virgin Islands Territorial Seal.
The design represents the overall natural wonder and beauty of the Territory’s islands. Government House forwarded the final design to the U.S. Mint last week.
The determining decision then lies with U.S. Secretary of Treasury, Henry Paulson. The governor’s recommendation is based on the will of the people and the final returns of the community-wide poll for a final design.
Later this fall, U.S. Treasury Secretary Paulson will forward deJongh the design selected at the national level, and a production and circulation schedule will then follow. The production of the Virgin Islands Commemorative Quarter will begin next year.
DeJongh once again thanked the Virgin Islands Commemorative Quarter Design Selections Committee and the general community for their collective efforts in guiding this important process and applauded Delegate Donna Christen Christiansen for her leadership in the U.S. House of Representatives in sponsoring the legislation that enabled this great honor.