CFVI Names Marie ThomasGriffith New Chair of Board of Directors

Marie ThomasGriffith (Submitted photo)

The Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands recently announced that Marie ThomasGriffith has been elected the new chair of CFVI’s board of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2021. ThomasGriffith, who has been on the board since 2004, most recently served on the executive committee as secretary. She is the Foundation’s first female chair and replaces George H.T. Dudley, who has been on the board since 2009.

Angelina Daswani, a board member since 2013, is stepping into the vacant secretary position. Rejoining the board of directors is Thelma Watson-Comissiong MD, who previously served from 2003-2009. A full list of all current CFVI board members can be found at

ThomasGriffith, an attorney shareholder at Hall & Griffith P.C. on St. Thomas, has been CFVI’s Scholarship Committee Chair since 2005. In addition to serving as secretary from 2014-2020, she also served as second vice-chair from 2011-2012. As one of her first orders of business as the new chair, ThomasGriffith established the CFVI Chair’s Council, which is made up of past CFVI chairs selected to serve in an informal leadership advisory capacity to the board.

George H.T. Dudley (Submitted photo)

Outgoing Chairman George H.T. Dudley, partner and founding member of Dudley Newman Feuerzeig LLP on St. Thomas and St. Croix, most recently served as the Foundation’s chairman from 2013-2020. He had previously served as treasurer from 2009-2012. Dudley helped lead CFVI through two catastrophic Category 5 hurricanes, as well as the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic. He was formally thanked and recognized for his efforts at the most recent CFVI board meeting, held via Zoom on Jan. 28, where fellow current and past board members and CFVI staff hosted a virtual toast to his accomplishments.

In honor of its 30th anniversary, CFVI recognizes and gives special thanks to all the community leaders who have served on the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands Board of Directors since 1990. To view the full list, click here.