Kevin McCurdy Named New Chair of Lottery Commission After Jenifer O’Neal Resigns

Kevin McCurdy named new chairperson of V.I. Lottery Commission. (Photo courtesy PFA)

The V.I. Lottery Commission held a public emergency commission meeting on Friday to discuss new chairperson Kevin McCurdy, who will be taking the place of former chairperson Jenifer O’Neal, and other matters.

The replacement of O’Neal comes on the heels of federal agents seizing the phones of both O’Neal, who serves as the director of the Office of Management and Budget, and Police Commissioner Ray Martinez, Government House officials confirmed.

O’Neal was in Orlando when served a subpoena to testify regarding the contract between the Virgin Islands Police Department and Mon Ethos Pro Support, a company operated by David Whitaker, who, in 2008, admitted to bilking more than $10 million by selling but never delivering, electronic equipment and other criminal activities, according to the FBI and U.S. Attorney’s Office. Whitaker, then 36, was sentenced to more than five years in federal prison.

O’Neal wrote to her staff before 5:30 a.m. Monday, saying she was stepping down while working to clear her name so as not to disrupt the office, which is in the heat of budget season.

The commission was in executive session to meet on financial matters and their fiscal year budget for 2025 before presenting it to the Legislature. “Our budget was approved and received the green light to move forward with union negotiations for my staff,” said Executive Director and Commission Secretary Raymond Williams.