DOE Makes Changes to ‘No V.I. Child Goes Hungry’ Schedule

The school bus arrives at Oswald Harris Court on St. Thomas Thursday morning bearing food instead of children, courtesy of Department of Education’s No V.I. Child Goes Hungry Feeding Initiative. (Submitted photo)

Effective Tuesday, Oct. 13, the St. Croix Central High School will begin meal distribution, and the Rudy Krieger Ball Park in Estate Sion Farm will cease distribution of meals in the Department of Education’s “No V.I. Child Goes Hungry” Feeding Initiative.

Breakfast and lunch may be picked up at all distribution sites beginning at 9 a.m., Mondays through Fridays, until supplies last. Meals will not be served on holidays or weekends.

Meals are available to public and non-public school students whose schools are providing instruction virtually. Non-public schools operating with students attending in-person classes will continue meal collection/pick-up as normal from their public-school kitchen distribution site.

Parents or guardians picking up meals should note the following:

1)Meals are limited to five per person (five breakfast and five lunches)

2) A face mask or facial covering must be worn when collecting meals

3) Identification is not required at pick-up

St. Croix District Distribution Sites – 9 a.m. weekdays, until supplies last

Alfredo Andrews Elementary School

Arthur A. Richards K-8 School

Claude O. Markoe Elementary School

D.C. Canegata Multipurpose Center (outside)

Eulalie R. Rivera K-8 School

John H. Woodson Junior High School

Isaac Boynes Ball Park, Estate Grove Place

Lew Muckle Elementary School

Juanita Gardine K-8 School

Renholdt ‘Rookie” Jackson Ball Park, Estate Whim

Ricardo Richards Elementary School

St. Croix Central High School – (**New Site**)

St. Croix Educational Complex High School

William’s Delight Villas Community Center

St. John Distribution Sites — 9 a.m. weekdays, until supplies last


Calabash Boom Housing Community

Chocolate Hole

Coral Bay Fire Station

Estate Grunwald

Estate Pastory

George Simmons Terrace

Julius E. Sprauve School

Pinepeace Basketball Court

St. Thomas Distribution Sites — 9 a.m. weekdays, until supplies last

Alvin McBean Ball Park

Anna’s Retreat Community Center

Bordeaux Basketball Court

Contant Knolls Community Center

Estate Bovoni Community Center

Ezra Fredericks Ball Park (formerly Frydenhoj Ball Park)

Joseph Sibilly School Parking Lot

Magen’s Bay/ Luvenlund Junction

Michael Kirwan Terrace Community Center

Oswald E. Harris Court Community Center

Paul M. Pearson Gardens Community Center

Savan Basketball Court

Smith Bay Ball Park

Tutu Valley Basketball Court

Ulla F. Muller Elementary School (front entrance)

Winston Raymo Recreational Center