Senate Plans Perma-Plaque and Recognition Ceremony for Friday

Government House in Christiansted. (Kelsey Nowakowski photo)
Government House in Christiansted. (Kelsey Nowakowski photo)

Senate President Myron D. Jackson and the other members of the 32nd Legislature will be hosting a Perma-Plaque and Recognition Ceremony at 10 a.m., on Friday, Dec. 14, at Government House, Christiansted St. Croix.

During the ceremony, a Medal of Honor tribute will be bestowed upon former Senator John A. Bell for his unselfish contributions to the community.

The body will also be recognizing outgoing St. Croix senators: Sen. Nereida Rivera-O’Reilly, Sen. Neville James, Sen. Alicia “Chucky” Hansen, Sen. Positive T.A. Nelson and Sen. Sammuel Sanes. Additionally, the Legislature will recognize the St. Croix legislative retirees: Cynthia Francis, Sonia Kelly-Williams, Jose Acosta and Kathleen Dowling for their many years of dedicated service to the institution.

“Their accumulated years of productivity speaks to how far the Legislature has come, and although there is still more to be accomplished, it would not have been possible without the commitment of these fine men and women,” said Jackson.

The ceremony will be carried live on Viya Cable Channel 26, WVSE 91.9 FM, streamed on the internet at and streamed on

For additional information, contact Shelley M. Thomas of Senate President Jackson’s office at 712-2317.