St. Croix High Jumper Takes Silver at Chicago Meet

LeSotho Charles Golphin, who won a silver in the high jump
LeSotho Charles Golphin of St. Croix, who won a silver in the high jump at a meet in Chicago. (Photo by the Hounds & Foxes Track Club)

The combined teams of the Hounds & Foxes Track Club of St. Croix and Chicago won 15 medals — three gold, nine silver, and three bronze — at the Speed Capital Illinois Invitational Meet at Benedictine University in Lisle, Chicago on June 4-5.

The lone medal winner from St. Croix is LeSotho Charles Golphin, who won a silver in the high jump. Eight athletes from the Chicago Hounds & Foxes won 14 medals, according to a press release from the club. 

The Hounds and Foxes Track Club is a nonprofit organization that helps promote wellness in children and youth through active involvement in the sport of track and field, according to the press release.

“The program encourages talents in sports; provides academic assistance and serves as a positive outlet for our youth to be engaged. We also seek scholastic opportunities for our student athletes to further their academic and athletic pursuits in schools, colleges, and universities. The activities of the club include athletics training, travel, and competition to track meets home and away, tutoring/homework assistance, volunteerism, and other activities,” the release stated.

Hounds & Foxes Chicago Winners 

Jordan Hamb (100m), Jordan Hamb (Long Jump), Richard Smith Jr. (80mH)

Nicalas Pleasant (100m), Nicalas Pleasant (200m), Nicalas Pleasant (400m), Kaeden Smith (200m), Zion Morrison (200m), LeSotho Charles Golphin (High Jump), Ethan Brundidge (80mH), Kaelyn Jose (80mH); Sarahashley Briggs (Shot Put)

Zion Morrison (100m), Arredia Primar (Shot Put), Elysia Pleasant (200mH)

Great Effort in These Events:
Kortni Smith (200mH, Shot Put), Arredia Primar (100m, 200mH), Kaeden Smith (400m), Tylar Smith (400m, Long Jump), Austin Ewing (100m,1500m), Aubrey Ewing (100m, Long Jump), LeSotho Charles Golphin (100m, Long Jump), Kennedy Hall (100m, 200m, Long Jump), Elysia Pleasan (Long Jump), Londyn Little (100m, Long Jump), Zion Morrison (Long Jump), Nicalas Pleasant (Long Jump), Kaelyn Jose (100m), Sarahashley Briggs (100m), Keir Searcy (100m).