USVI Soccer Association Executive Committee Holds Elections

Seated L-R: Dr. Jason Williams, Joseph Limeburner, Hilleran Frederick, John P. DeJongh. Standing L-R: Howard McIntosh, Alvin Randolph, Carol D. Howell, Mida Gaikwad, Marcella Jennings.

The U.S.V.I. Soccer Association held its Annual Shareholder Meeting, known as an Ordinary Congress, on July 14 at the USVISA offices, 23-1 Bethlehem, St. Croix. The annual meeting is used to disseminate information to the membership about the status of initiatives and endeavors, budgets and audits approved at the Congress in 2018. This year’s meeting also included elections for positions on the executive committee. The candidates for the various positions are nominated by the membership at least a month before the meeting. The term of service on the executive committee is four years, and there are no term limits.

In attendance at the Ordinary Congress was Howard McIntosh, senior manager of ONE CONCACAF and Caribbean projects. McIntosh has also held the post of FIFA Development Officer for the region. He was on St. Croix to observe the 2019 USVISA Congress and ensure the proceedings followed the proper protocol for the election of officers.

Hilleran Frederick, the current president, retained the confidence of the membership as he won over one opponent, Terrance Jones. Joseph Limeburner also retained his post of 1st vice president; there was one challenger, Carol D. Howell. The post of 2nd vice president had two candidates, Alvin Randolph and John P. DeJongh, who won. For the post of assistant secretary of operations, Dr. Jason Williams was victorious over his one opponent, Edna Tuitt. Assistant Secretary of Administration Mida Gaikwad retained her post unopposed, as did Floor Member Marcella Jennings.

The USVISA Statutes allow for two additional members to complete the executive committee. The president makes one nomination, Alvin Williams. The membership also nominated and elected Carol D. Howell as an executive committee member. The eight executive committee members pledged their dedication to constantly improve and promote the game of soccer.

[adrotate group="6"]