VIPA Approves Plan To Create 150 Parking Spaces at Enighed

Finding a parking space in Cruz Bay should soon be at least a little bit easier, thanks to the V.I. Port Authority.

During a Wednesday evening, October 21, meeting, VIPA’s governing board voted unanimously to utilize part of the land at the Enighed Pond Marine facility for parking. The sole vote not cast was from Department of Public Works Commissioner and board member Daryl Smalls who abstained, according to a report in the V.I. Daily News.

The parking lot, which will provide about 150 parking spaces within walking distance to Cruz Bay, will be inside the fence at the Enighed Pond Marine facility on land that was filled with material dredged from the pond during construction of the barge facility.

The berm running along the fence line will be pushed back 75 feet, the land will be covered with gravel and lights will be installed, according to information from VIPA.

St. Thomas based architect firm deJongh and Associates created the design, which is intended to give immediate relief to Cruz Bay parking problems as a permanent solution is devised.

The project is expected to cost about $1 million, financed by the V.I. Public Finance Authority’s recent bond issue, according to the Daily News.

An additional $1 million has been earmarked from PFA to bankroll designs and engineering of a permanent parking solution.

Details of the parking lot are still being hashed out including whether or not VIPA will make it a free or a paid lot.

While welcoming the news of 150 new parking spaces, residents aren’t giving up on their fight for a multilevel parking facility, according to Senator at Large Craig Barshinger.

“We have 1,000 signatures from residents who want a multi-level parking structure constructed,” said Barshinger. “This immediate plan is a great idea and we want VIPA to create it right away. But we don’t want to forget about our long-range plans to have a permanent solution to our parking issues.”

VIPA board members at last week’s meeting were Albert Bryan, Robert O’Connor, Gordon Finch, Cassan Pancham, Hector Peguero, Smalls, Yvonne Thraen and Vincent Frazer. Beverly Nicholson-Doty did not attend the meeting.