175th Emancipation Commemoration Committee Announces Recipients of Living Legends of Culture Awards

175th Emancipation Commemoration Committee logo and design, created by the committee and property of the Government of the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The 175th Emancipation Commemoration Committee is proud to announce the recipients of this year’s Living Legends of Culture Awards. Nominations were solicited from members of the community of those whose accomplishments, impact and story best exemplify an individual who has contributed greatly to the achievement, development and enhancement of the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Nominees must have been 30 years of age or older as of July 3, 2022. The nominees were required to have at least 10 years’ experience in the industry they are being nominated for. Self or group nominations were not allowed.

On Friday, June 2, through Monday, June 12 at 11:59 pm, the U.S. Virgin Islands community voted. The top 15 vote recipients were selected as the Living Legends of Culture from each district. The Living Legends will be honored in ceremonies that are sponsored by FirstBank on June 26 on St. John, June 28 on St. Thomas, and June 30 on St. Croix.

The Living Legends of Culture selected by the community for the St. Thomas–St. John District are:

  • Randolph and Randall Donovan
  • Jose Raul Carillo
  • Myron Jackson
  • Verne Hodge
  • Lawrence Sewer
  • Glenn Davis
  • Gilbert Sprauve
  • Peter Holmberg
  • Peter Bailey
  • Marilyn Krigger
  • Sele Adeyemi
  • Malvern Gumbs
  • Anna Francis
  • Kuumba Ola-Niyi 1
  • Edney Freeman

The Living Legends of Culture selected by the community from the St. Croix District are:

  • Caroline Adams-Fawkes
  • Tim Duncan
  • Frances Molloy
  • J Ventura
  • Zahra O’Reilly Bates
  • Gerard Luz Amwur James II
  • Asta Williams
  • Cedelle Petersen
  • Rashidi Clenance
  • Willard John
  • Richard Schrader
  • Olassie Davis
  • Curliss Solomon-John
  • Bradley Christian
  • Jelani Ritter

For more information on the 175th celebration of Emancipation, visit www.vi175.com.