Property Tax Bills Due June 30

The Office of the Lieutenant Governor recently announced the issuance of 2017 property tax bills. Lieutenant Governor Osbert E. Potter said bills are being issued to all property owners on record as of January 1, 2017.

The estimated total value of the Property Tax Bills issued is $54 million.

Potter is encouraging property owners who have not paid prior tax year bills are to contact the Office of the Tax Collector to make arrangements for payment.

Consistent with past billings, the current bills include information on unpaid tax years. Property owners who have not paid their prior tax year bills are encouraged to contact the Office of the Tax Collector to make arrangements for payment. Waste Management user fees are also included.

The Lieutenant Governor urged property owners to make payments or payment plans by the end of the month. “The 2017 bills will become due on June 30 and will become delinquent if not paid by August 30,” Potter said.

The announcement issued last week also addressed tax bills that are subject to appeal. The topic was raised at a recent town meeting held at the Cruz Bay Legislature.

Potter said property owners whose informal appeals have been reviewed will see reassessments on their 2017 bills. “The Office of the Tax Assessor will continue its efforts to review all appeals,” he said.

Tax bills may be paid online at the official website at Payment plans must still be made through the Office of the Tax Collector.

Physical payments can be made on St. John at the Islandia Building or at Builders Emporium on St. Thomas. On St.Croix, property tax bills can be paid at Government House on King Street in Christiansted. They can also be paid at the Department of Finance at the Sunny Isles Shopping Center and at the Lagoon Street Commercial Building No. 1 in Frederiksted.

Questions regarding property tax delinquencies should be addressed to the Tax Collector’s office at (340) 776-8505 on St. Thomas, (340) 776-6737 on St. John or (340) 773-6449 on St. Croix.

Questions about Waste Management user fees should be referred to the offices of Waste Management Authority at St. Thomas/St. John (340) 715-9100 and St. Croix (340) 773-6449.