Anchored Vessels in All Non-Designated Anchorages Must Relocate

Lindbergh Bay, St. Thomas (file photo)

Commissioner Jean-Pierre L. Oriol of the Department of Planning and Natural Resources (DPNR) calls for all long-term anchoring vessels in temporary anchorages opened during the State-of-Emergency “Stay at Home” Order to relocate their vessels to a designated area for mooring and anchoring area by Friday, July 24.

Brewers Bay, Magens Bay and Lindbergh Bay on St. Thomas and Lind Point on St. John have been approved as temporary anchoring sites due to the high volume of vessels that relocated to the territory because of the COVID-19 pandemic. As the volume of vessels has significantly reduced, the DPNR needs to return to the planned use of regularly designated bays where space is available. Vessel operators are now required to relocate to one of those areas.

An unusual number of boats are moored in Brewers Bay. (Source photo by Bethaney Lee)
An unusual number of boats are moored in Brewers Bay. (Source photo by Bethaney Lee)

Be sure to inform the Division of Environmental Enforcement of the change in location of anchorage so that the changes may be reflected in the anchoring permit on file.  The following is a listing by island of the available locations:

St. Thomas: Charlotte Amalie Harbor, Pacquereau Bay,  Bolongo Bay, Secret Harbor, Long Bay, Water Bay, Red Hook Bay

St. John: Coral Harbor, Great Cruz Bay, Chocolate Hole

St. Croix: Chenay Bay, Christiansted Harbor, Cotton Garden Bay, Frederiksted Harbor, Salt River, Teague Bay

Be reminded that all vessels anchored in the territory are required to have a valid anchoring permit renewal every 30 days.

If there are questions or concerns, contact Director of Environmental Enforcement Howard A. Forbes Sr. at 773-5774 or Assistant Director Jessica Parris at 227-8253.